This Guide focuses on major legal sources from the federal and state governments. Click on one of the categories to the left to see resources for each branch of the federal government or for the states.
A comprehensive guide to government information online and in print at the University of Virginia, including a subject guide ("How Do I Find Government Information on ...?") and an extensive A-Z list of resources.
Optimized for Firefox with Zotera plugin for bulk downloads. Federal legislative history service. Includes the Public Law, all versions of related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, prints, Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and additional background material.
Provides legislative history information and access to a wide range of congressional documents, including published and unpublished hearings, CRS reports, committee reports, and committee prints. If you're researching legislative history for a particular law, try ProQuest Legislative Insight.
Searchable legislative history information and texts for congressional bills 2001-date. In the process of replacing THOMAS, which still has information on older bills (1995-date) and the Congressional Record 1989-date.
Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.